Alpha Redemption

From despair he fled, through tragedy he lived on, and journeyed to innocence.

His trajectory: the stars.His companion: a computer poised at the brink of sentience.

An unlikely friendship on a prototype spaceship at lightspeed towards Alpha Centauri, and redemption.

When Brett loses everything in a tragic accident, he gladly accepts an invitation to take part in a prototype speed-of-light trip to Alpha Centauri, knowing that he may not survive. His only companion is the ship's on-board computer, Jay. At first he finds Jay an annoyance but, as time passes, the two become friends. With the voyage drawing to a close, Jay develops a sense of self-awareness and a belief in God. When it becomes clear that they cannot both survive the return trip, one of them must make the ultimate sacrifice.

Alpha Redemption is published through Splashdown Books.

 

 What People Are Saying about Alpha Redemption
 Wow! Can I say it again? Wow! Alpha Redemption is easily one of the best books I've ever read.
~ Rev. Steve Wilson, author of "The Gifted"

 A book that is not simply bold and adventurous but also well-written. Bravo!
~ Chris Walley, author of the "Lamb among the Stars" trilogy

I challenge you to read this book and feel the power released in the words that could change your life for the better. Thank you P.A. Baines for reminding me this power is available to all of us, if only we would believe.
Brett's journey to Alpha Centauri with Jay will touch you in a place you didn't know existed. Even now as I write this blog, there is a stirring in my chest I want to feel for a long time.
~ Laura O'Connell, author of "African Hearts"
 
An all nighter, can't-put-it-down read, with a unique twist I didn't see coming and the perfect book for fans of Asimov or Clarke!
~ Dana Bell, author of "Winter Awakening"

 An inspiring look forward to mankind's first reach for the stars, and to AI's first reach for something beyond its programming.
~ Ryan Grabow, author of "Caffeine"

 Alpha Redemption is a beautiful work of art, cleverly told, portraying deep spiritual themes - a perfect storm of fiction.
The daring parallel structure of Alpha is wildly successful, both in terms of mere pleasure in reading, and the manner in which it drives the story forward.
It is heart-wrenching, pulling with the force of a bulldozer. From start to end, my heart leapt for Baines' main character, and, unpredictably, for his secondary character.
Baines possessed the creative ability to make me feel for a computer!
Move over, Hal...meet Jay.
Alpha's pacing flowed superbly, striking a nice balance between philosophy, action, and the resulting character development.
The story is deeply satisfying, the characters are interesting and compelling, and the reader will pull for them...and the gospel.
This one's a clear winner.
~ Marc Schooley, author of "The Dark Man"

 Part Best of Robert Heinlein, maybe a smattering of Clarke, with the good old days of Ray Bradbury--I love stories like this.
~ Lisa J. Lickel, author of "Healing Grace", "The Gold Standard", and "Meander Scar"

 P.A. Baines pens a fascinating, heart-felt, Sci-Fi story.
~ Nora St.Laurent